· 

HOME IS WHERE THE HEART IS!

The last time I went to Mexico City was November of 2019, I had not been for a while. Since my aunt, my dad’s sister, died I had been too sad to return. This time I wanted to see the city on my own, I wanted to see every little place I was sheltered from as a kid, go and eat at the street markets, walk the historic center’s streets, discover so much I had not seen or maybe had glanced at in passing. Mexico City will forever be my home, no matter how long I’ve lived somewhere else. The city that has so much to offer, full of museums and monuments, with amazing street food that is know all over the world, and elevated food that varies by region, yes a bit crazier and faster than New York; that is my home, the city that saw me grow up. I want to share some of the photos I took while I was there so you can see the little things that caught my eye and made me smile. They are all iPhone photos, which usually I only share on Instagram, but since it was the first time I was going back in a while I wanted to walk the streets of the city all day long and did not take my big Nikon camera. No regrets, I love what I was able to capture with my phone.

 


Mexico City - December 2019

 

Each of these photos was taken with my iPhone while strolling the streets of Mexico City. In order from left to right, top to bottom you can see the following:

1. Best Quesadillas ever by Señora Carmen, there every night in the Condesa neighborhood. This one had chorizo, cheese and of course always a corn tortilla.

2. Historic Center (downtown), standing outside Bellas Artes looking at the Torre Latinoamericana on a beautiful cool and sunny day. 

3. The Benito Juarez Hemicycle monument in the Alameda Central park. 

4. Calle de la Amargura (street of bitterness) in San Angel; love the streets of this neighborhood in the south of the city. 

5. Exhibition of Otomi dolls (rag dolls) also called "Marias" which originated in the South of the country. 

6. Tacos al Pastor - yes please! A classic Mexican taco that interestingly originated from the influence of Lebanese immigrants in Mexico. 

7. Outside of the Palacio de Bellas Artes (Palace of Fine Arts) a prominent cultural center in the heart of Mexico City's historic center.

8. Santa Fe, a neighborhood in the North of the city which is packed with new sky rises and is becoming the new financial district, also a high-end residential area.

9. The Metro station outside Bellas Artes, the sign was a gift from France in 1998.

10. Christmas decorations along Paseo de la Reforma, in this case a Piñata. 

11. Casa de los Azulejos (House of Tiles), a beautiful building built in the 18th century in the historic center, which is covered in blue and white tiles that originate in the state of Puebla.

12. A modern and more sophisticated version of an Esquite, a delicious street food that is served in a cup and is made of corn, cream (or mayo), lime and chili powder, and of course a Modelo beer. 

13. Palacio de Bellas Artes at night. 

14. Noche Buenas (poinsettias) adorning el Paseo de la Reforma for the holidays, this boulevard was built in the 1860s and it was molded after the Champs-Élysées in Paris. 

15. Cocina Mezcalera, a tiny restaurant in the Condesa neighborhood that specializes in elevated street Mexican food incorporating mezcal. 

 

 ©2019 Tatiana G. Haro

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0