· 

ICELAND, THE LAND OF DREAMS!

I never understood why Iceland is the green one and Greenland is the white one. But I don’t care because I am in awe of Iceland; I am the luckiest to have been there twice so far. These photos are from the first time I went in the summer of 2018. I wanted was to go somewhere away from Miami, somewhere where it was not 100 degrees and Iceland turned out the be the perfect place. Even though my dream had always been to go there to see the northern lights, in July it was 24 hours of daylight, oh well, I figured I would return one day when there was a chance to see the lights. There is something special and different about Iceland, its terrain is different, its nature seems out of an epic time or some story book, there is a stunning waterfall everywhere you turn and its black sand beaches are what dreams are made of. Iceland will forever be one of my favorite places and I hope I have the chance to return one day. 


©2018 Tatiana G. Haro

 

Reynisfjara, Iceland - July 2018

 

This has to be my favorite photo from my July 2018 trip to Iceland, although I have plenty I like. I'm all about black everything and kind of anti-sun, so when I started walking on the sand towards the beach I thought I was in paradise. It was something that was hard to describe, I wanted to never leave. This was during 24 hours of daylight, probably around noon, most days were this dark and cloudy, I probably saw the actual sun twice during the seven days I was there. I love its emptiness too, aside from that couple which gave the darkness a bit more drama, there was no one else. 

 

Nikon D7000 / AF-S DX Nikkor 18-300mm f 3.5-5.6G


@ 2018 Tatiana G. Haro


These photos were all taking while stying in a cabin in the middle of nowhere in the South of Iceland and driving all day to go discover the sights. I did not see anything I was not in awe of, I can't wait to go take more pictures one day, maybe next time it will be the North.

 

From left to right, top to bottom:

  1. Seljalandsfoss Waterfall (left) - Stunning, possibly my favorite because it is paired with black sand. 
  2. Hraunfossar Waterfall (center) - Reykholt. This is the only part of Western Iceland I see, after arriving drove to see this waterfall before heading South to the cabin. It turned out a whole day event!
  3. Mountains (center) - Driving South East towards the cabin, took the road less traveled which made it so much longer, but it was worth the sites.
  4. Skogafoss Waterfall (right) - This was pretty cool because you can walk under it, behind the water. Get ready to get soaking wet!
  5. Vestmannaeyjar / Western Islands (left) - such a cool way to spend the day, take the ferry to Vestmannaeyjar, beautiful views and it also houses the Pompeii father West. 
  6. Reynisfjara (center) - Rock formations on the black sand beach of Reynisfjara. I could live right there, it was darkness perfection (very GOT). 
  7. Geysir at Arnessysla (left) - Gorgeous geysers, my first time seeing one, so I am not sure if there are actually cooler ones. 
  8. Puffing (right) - I'm a penguin lover, but puffins definitely are right up there. This was taken on a boat ride off Reykjavik when searching for whales. 
  9. House on puffin island (left) the house were conservationists keep supplies, on a tiny island off Reykjavik where puffins and other birds hang out. 

Write a comment

Comments: 0